TS Hazard Sea Cadets Support Faversham Nautical Festival


Sea Cadets from TS Hazard have been joining in with the community and sea-faring spirit this weekend by having a stand and showing the local community what they get up to, they also rustled up some tasty burgers!

The two-day annual event was opened by the local Mayor and is run by the Faversham Rotary Club and Faversham Creek Trust.

Residents and visitors saw the traditional vessels that have been invited to moor in the upper regions of the Creek over the weekend, including: Thames Sailing Barges, Dutch Barges, tugs, smacks and many smaller boats.

20228920_10155405055876827_9089786842933663721_n

The medieval building, TS Hazard, the Sea Cadets’ home was used as a photographic and art exhibition in and entertainment included information stalls, exhibitions, a beer tent, Bar-b-cue and folk music.

Chief Petty Officer Bryan Goldsmith runs Faversham Sea Cadets and said:

“It’s a great way to engage with the local community, we’re often on the look-out for new cadets and adults to join. There’s no previous experience required – come along and find out more about what we do.

We offer lots of exciting challenges and opportunities, my wife is the training officer and all of my children have been, or are currently cadets and it really does change young people’s lives”.

 

20246485_10155405055541827_5126759267434562522_n

Cadet 1st Class Thomas Peck

“I’ve been in for about three years now, I really enjoy it, my favourite experience so far has been archery and seamanship.

It’s a great way to make new friends and I really enjoy the range of training it offers”.

Ordinary Cadet Jonty Peck

“I’ve been a Sea Cadet since I was 11, my favourite experience so far was staying and sailing on TS Royalist for a whole week!

I’m writing my CV for work experience and the things I have learnt will help me to stand out to employers”.

20228315_10155405056366827_7954187314810601111_n

Cadet First Class Freya Farmer

“I’ve been in for three years; my Grandad was with the Royal Navy and when I moved to Faversham seemed the perfect time to join!

http://www.sea-cadets.org/

Leave a Reply

