Surrey Lord Lieutenant’s Awards Ceremony Part.2


Surrey LL Awards_019.jpg

Being a cadet has given me confidence and discipline

Cadet Corporal Devon Walker, 16, has been awarded the ACF Certificate of Good Service for his outstanding effort and commitment to the ACF.  Devon is a student at Farnborough College of Technology studying ICT Level 3 BTEC and has been a cadet for five years.  He said “I am deeply happy and proud to have received this award.  Being a cadet has given me confidence and discipline and has helped me to make lots of great friends.”

Surrey LL Awards_020.jpg

The cadets gave me training, friendship and a purpose

Lance Corporal Peter Turner-Wells, 18, has been awarded the ACF Certificate of Good Service for his outstanding effort and commitment to the ACF.  Peter was an Army Cadet parading with Addlestone Detachment until recently when he turned eighteen and is now joining Surrey ACF as a volunteer adult instructor.    Peter, who is a student at St George’s School in Weybridge, volunteers with St John Ambulance and  is also the Poppy Appeal organiser for Cobham – the youngest in the ninety year history – and has a poppy fundraising target of £20,000.     He hopes to join the Royal Army Medical Corps and become a paramedic with the British Army.  He said “The cadets gave me training, friendship and a purpose.  My proudest moments have been when I have paraded in uniform to remember those who have fallen.”

Surrey LL Awards_021.jpg

Gold Duke of Edinburgh Award Winner

Cadet Corporal Jack Turrell, has been presented with his Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award.  Jack, 18, attends Carshalton College studying Public Services and is an ATC Cadet parading with 350 (Carshalton & Wallington) Squadron.  He joined on his Dad’s recommendation after hearing about the new skills, new friends and really good experiences to be had in the Corps.  Jack’s greatest achievement has been his promotion to Corporal and he believes the ATC is responsible for him becoming a much more confident person.  So much so that last year he went to Florida for a week to work at the second biggest airshow in America where he was marshalling aircraft.  He said “I’m feel very happy and proud that I have received my Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award from the Lord-Lieutenant this evening”.

Surrey LL Awards_022.jpg

A rewarding and enriching process

Corporal Florence Budge, 17, has been presented with her Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award.  Florence is an air cadet with 450 (Kenley) Squadron and is a pupil at Woldingham School.   She joined the Corps in 2013 as an out of school activity with a wider group of people and the opportunity to take part in varied activities.  She said “I am thrilled to be receiving my Gold Duke of Edinburgh Award after lots of hard work and look forward to using the skills I have learned later in life.  I relished the opportunity to work within my community, and found the whole award a rewarding and enriching process”.  She added “Being a cadet has made me more disciplined and also more resilient.  I like the enjoyable activities, the friends I have made and the feeling of being part of a tight-knit community”.

Surrey LL Awards_023.jpg

“Green Shot” Medal Winner in International Shooting Competitions

Corporal Sam Franklin, 16, is an Army Cadet with Addlestone Detachment and has been awarded the Canadian Shooting Exchange Award following his participation in this year’s Royal Canadian Army Cadet and UK ACF bilateral exchange programme.  A small group of UK Army cadets attend the six-week long Cadet Leadership and Instructor Marksmanship Course in Canada and then participate in the Canadian National rifle Shooting Competition.  Sam, who is a student at Farnborough Military College, is a keen Target Rifle Shooter and won a “Green Shot” medal in the 135th Ontario Rilfe Association Meeting and came 1st in the MacDonald Stewart 600 yards Match.  He has since been selected as a member of the UK “Athelings” Team and will return to Canada in 2017 to represent the UK ACF.   He said “I feel very proud for my detachment and for myself.  I have been given some great opportunities in the ACF and it is nice to achieve something at this sort of event”.  He added “By being a cadet I have real sense of achievement.  It has given me greater confidence and new skills; I feel able to deal with anything now”.

Surrey LL Awards_024.jpg

The Pinnacle of my Cadet Career

Cadet Company Sergeant Major Sophie Verrinder, 18, has been awarded the Master Cadet Badge and Certificate.  Sophie, who has now aged out of cadets, paraded with Mytchett Detachment ACF for five years.  Before she left, she attended the Master Cadet Course whose aim is to broaden and further develop the training of 4-Star Cadets with the intention of making better use of their abilities.  Sophie is now a student at the University of Portsmouth doing a degree in Law with International Relations and is joining the University Officer Training Corps in Southampton.  She said “Becoming a Master Cadet in the pinnacle of my cadet career and has proved to me that I can achieve anything if I put my heart and soul into it.  I’m incredibly proud of myself for achieving this”.

PIC BY STEWART TURKINGTON
www.stphotos.co.uk
07778 334771

The biggest achievement in my life

Surrey Army Cadet Regimental Sergeant Major Shauna Lawless, 18, who parades at Caterham Detachment ACF was presented with the coveted Claire Shore Trophy which is awarded to the Army Cadet Force’s Champion Cadet 2016.

Each year ACF County Commandants are asked to nominate their best Master Cadet to compete in the annual Champion Cadet Competition.  Following a series of events and challenges, the best three cadets are interviewed, and then one of the cadets is announced Champion Cadet for that year.  The competition, which lasts just under 48 hours, tests both physical and mental aptitude, and requires the cadets to compete against each other both individually and as members of a team in a range of activities.  These include command tasks, weapon handling, map and compass skills (including night navigation), foot drill, first aid, logical problem solving and a comprehensive test of the entire ACF Army Proficiency Certificate syllabus.  There is also a panel interview if you make it to the top three.

Throughout the competition the assessors are looking for signs of leadership, teamwork, self-discipline and unselfishness. The winner of the competition is the cadet deemed by the selection committee to be the year’s most inspiring example of the ACF Master Cadet.

Cadet RSM Lawless said “Winning Champion Cadet has been the biggest achievement in my life and I am extremely proud of myself for winning the trophy. I couldn’t have done it without the amazing support and belief from all of the adults from Surrey ACF.”  She continued “The ACF has made me a more confident and well developed person, which has helped me to increase my job opportunities. It has given me life skills, qualifications and friends I never would have met if it wasn’t for the ACF.  Of all the experiences I’ve had at Surrey ACF, including going to Australia on a three week exchange, being awarded the trophy and becoming Champion Cadet is fantastic, I’m at the very top.”

Surrey LL Awards_030.jpg

A credit to the youth of surrey

Cadet Sergeant Jake Lomas has been appointed Lord-Lieutenant of Surrey’s Cadet 2016/2017.  Jake, 17, is a Royal Marines Cadet at Guildford Unit Sea Cadet Corps, and joined because he wanted to do something different.  He said “I chose the Marine Cadets because I enjoy shooting”.  Jake is qualified in boating and first aid and has participated enthusiastically in camps, competitions, ceremonial, fund raising and charity events.  A most determined cadet, he even completed his Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Award on crutches.  A keen rower he is an Assistant Rowing Instructor and has repeatedly coxswained unit rowing teams to success and was the second-in-command of the successful Gibralter Cup Competition Team – the most prestigious competition for Royal Marines Cadets.  He said “I feel very honoured to have chosen for this position.  I see it as the pinnacle of my cadet career”.

Surrey LL Awards_032.jpg

The Greatest Honour that a Cadet Can Achieve

Cadet Colour Sergeant Dearbhla Doyle has been appointed Lord-Lieutenant of Surrey’s Cadet 2016/2017.  Dearbhla, 16, who parades at Felbridge Detachment ACF, is a student at Sackville School Sixth Form in East Grinstead, studying for her A-levels.  She said “I saw the ACF at a Remembrance Day Parade.  I loved the uniform and the drill and instantly wanted to join”.  Since joining the detachment just over three years ago, Dearbhla has completed the Army Proficiency Certificate at 4-star Level, the Senior Cadet Instructor Course and has been promoted to Cadet Colour Sergeant.  Registered for the Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Scheme, she also aspires to pass both the Master Cadet and the Cadet Leadership Courses.  A member of a local rowing club and considering a career in the armed forces or in aviation as a pilot, Dearbhla is keen to travel and hopes to be selected for Exercise Southern Cross in 2017, an exchange to Western Australia with the Australian Army Cadet Corps.  On receiving her Award she said “For me this is the greatest honour that a cadet can achieve.  It is the peak of my cadet career so far.  I am excited and look forward to supporting Her Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant of Surrey at events throughout the year”.

Surrey LL Awards_034.jpg

A great future ahead!

Cadet Warrant Officer Jake Moore has been appointed Lord-Lieutenant of Surrey’s Cadet 2016/2017.  Jake, 19, is an Air Cadet with 1349 (Woking) Squadron ATC and joined the corps in 2011 as a way of establishing a bigger interest in HM Forces and has recently been promoted to the highest cadet rank, reflecting his achievements.  Aspiring to be a military pilot, Jake has passed the Junior Leaders Course demonstrating that he is a highly committed team player and leader and is currently working towards the Silver Duke of Edinburgh Award. He has attended numerous UK camps, a camp in Cyprus, has completed the Nijmegen March in Holland and represents the squadron and wing at a variety of sporting events and drill competitions.  His squadron was recently selected as the “Best in Corps” – an outstanding achievement.  On receiving his award Jake said “It is certainly a pleasure and an honour to be receiving an award from the Lord-Lieutenant.  It means a great deal and is something which tops my five years in the ATC.  I certainly feel privileged to have been nominated for such a prestigious award”.

http://www.serfca.org/

Leave a Reply

