High adrenaline summer adventure for Southern Area Sea Cadets Part.3


SeaCadets_97.JPG

Ordinary Cadet Dan Walker, 14, has been a Sea Cadet with Herne Bay Unit for the past four years and is a pupil at Chatham and Clarendon Grammar School.  He joined the Sea Cadets after an introduction from the Unit Vice Chairman who is a family friend.  He said “She thought I’d enjoy it.  I really do.  I like boating and all the away courses and the adventure training.  The Zip World activities have been the highlight of the week for me so far – they’ve been the most fun.”

SeaCadets_95.JPG

Cadet First Class Tyler Selway, 14, is a Sea Cadet with Camberley Unit.  A pupil at Tomlinscote School and Sixth Form College, Tyler joined the Corps three years ago with his friend who he saw was doing lots of fun things including shooting.  He said “I’m really enjoying this week.  I’ve never done outside climbing before and enjoyed the scrambling up Tryfan.  The views were amazing and being in the fresh air was great.”  He added “I’ve learnt that I can commit to something – I come along to Sea Cadets every week – and it’s really helped to develop my character.  I’ve got a better sense of humour and I’m more polite and understanding of people”.

SeaCadets_90.JPG

Sergeant Jayson Holland, 28, is a self-employed carpet cleaner and became an adult instructor 16 years ago.  A father of three, Jayson decided to become a cadet forces adult volunteer as he loved his own time as a sea cadet and wanted to carry on the learning and to take advantage of the opportunity to earn more qualifications.  He said “We also have a great laugh – it’s fun and very rewarding. There is strong camaraderie amongst the staff and the social aspect is good.” Jayson is a qualified climbing instructor and also climbs outside of the unit.  “I enjoy seeing the cadets growing in confidence and teaching them how to climb is a good way to build that”.

SeaCadets_83.jpg

Petty Officer Sarah Phillips, 29, is a Cadet Forces Adult Volunteer with Herne Bay Unit Sea Cadets. A police officer with Kent Police, Sarah is an ex-Cadet herself and joined as a volunteer because she wanted to give something back.  She said “In my career I deal with kids from disadvantaged backgrounds and I’m a strong believer that if adults hadn’t volunteered at Sea cadets for me then I wouldn’t be where I am today.  I feel it’s my community and duty of service to give my time like this.  The Sea cadets have given me so many transferable skills and help me to understand children better.”  Sarah is a climbing instructor and said “Adventure Training in particular pushes children beyond their limits and when they achieve beyond their personal best or overcome a fear they thought was impossible, then I feel utterly proud.”  She continued “The team of instructors is fantastic and we’re very sociable.  We work together to help drive each other to overcome our fears and challenges too”.

SeaCadets_123.JPG

Marine Cadet First Class Charlie Bolton, 14, joined the Tunbridge Wells unit 18 months ago.  A pupil at Beacon Academy, Charlie’s Step Dad who was a diver in the Royal Navy, inspired Charlie to become a cadet with tales of his experience.  Charlie is hoping to join the Royal Marines as an officer when he leaves school.  I’m really enjoying this adventure training week.  The highlight for me has been spending the day with one of the instructors who is an ex Royal Marine and climbing one of the mountains, really challenging myself.  Charlie said that since he became a cadet he is tidier and his shoes are always clean!  He continued “I’ve got more confidence in myself, the team and the equipment”.

SeaCadets_139.JPG

Ordinary Cadet Jonty Peck, 14, is a pupil at Abbey School and has been a cadet with Faversham Unit Sea Cadets for three years.  He said “I joined cadets because I wanted to do something with my time after school on a Tuesday and Thursday.  I enjoy all the activities that we do and it’s fun going on courses and doing lots of different things.  My favourite activities are adventure training and mechanical engineering.”  Sitting on the side of a mountain after having done some rock climbing and abseiled down a 60m rock face, Jonty said “I love having the opportunity to be outside with magnificent views doing this”.

http://www.sea-cadets.org/

Leave a Reply

