High adrenaline summer adventure for Southern Area Sea Cadets Part.2


SeaCadets_16.JPG

Leading Cadet Alex Green, 17, is a pupil at Rainham School for Girls and has been a member of Medway Towns Sea Cadet Unit for almost six years.  She said “A friend of mine suggested we join Sea Scouts and I joined Sea Cadets by mistake!  I’m so glad I did!  I love the different courses and activities that you can do.  Last year I went sailing from Cork to Portsmouth and I’ve also been to Gran Canaria on a sailing trip.”  Alex, who wants to join the Royal Navy as either a Weapons Engineer or a Warfare Officer, did her first abseil in the Slate Quarry in Snowdonia.  She said “The abseiling was quite scary.  It was very high and taking that first step off the ledge was terrifying.  I’m so glad I did it though.  This week is brilliant fun.  It’s all proper adventure training and is giving us the opportunity to put the basics into practice.  Everyone is really nice, the staff and the other cadets and the zip lining is the best fun.”  She added “I’d definitely like to come back to Snowdonia to go climbing and mountain walking – this week has really inspired me”.

SeaCadets_37.JPG

Marine Cadet Second Class Harvey Nicholson, 14, is a pupil at Beacon Academy and has been a sea cadet with Tunbridge Wells Unit for nearly a year.  “I joined because I want to be a Royal Marine when I leave school.  I really enjoy all the physical activity – it’s much more fun and suits me better to be out of the class room for most of the time”.  He added “The abseil that we did in the Slate Quarry was great fun and something that you wouldn’t normally get to do.”  He added “I came along this week for the experience and to meet new people – I’m really enjoying it all”.

SeaCadets_62.JPG

Cadet First Class Max Witherington, 15, is a pupil at George Abbott school in Guildford and has been a sea cadet with the Guildford Unit for just over one year.  He said “I wanted to do something constructive with my spare time and so I joined Sea Cadets.  I especially love the boating especially kayaking, canoeing and paddling and the atmosphere at the unit is very welcoming and I’ve made lots of friends that are from outside school.”  He added “I’m really enjoying this adventure training week.  The mountain hike and scramble was great fun and it was quite a challenge to find the route whilst you were scrambling.  I think doing the big jump will be quite scary but I’m looking forward to having a go and doing it”.

SeaCadets_115.JPG

Ordinary Cadet Josh Phillips, 15, is a pupil at the Archbishop’s School in Canterbury and is a member of Herne Bay Sea Cadet Unit.  He said “My cousin is a sea cadet and I liked the sound of all the activities that are on offer.  I love all the different courses and activities you can do.  I’m definitely more confident and more prepared and willing to try new things.”  Josh attended the adventure training week last year and so he knew what to expect “I wanted to come again this year because it’s really fun.  I’m looking forward to the zip wires in the caverns”.

SeaCadets_77.JPG

Petty Officer Nathan Joseph has been an Adult Instructor with the Sea Cadets for 12 years.  He joined the High Wycombe Unit as a cadet in September 1999 and is now back at his old unit as an instructor.  Nathan, who currently works as a Conference Assistant is currently studying to be a youth worker, said “I’m dyslexic and being a sea cadet helped me immensely with my learning disability and challenges.  I became a CFAV because I wanted to share my personal experience and support other children with learning disabilities within the sea cadet environment and to help to get the best out of them.  It’s also great fun.”  He added “I started the Adventure Training courses this year.  So far I’ve achieved the Duke of Edinburgh Assessor and Supervisor qualifications, and am also an Adventure Leader.  I’m just about to start my Mountain Bike instructor qualifications and I’m in the process of building my bike myself.

SeaCadets_82.JPG

First Class Cadet Jake Salmon, 13, has been a Sea Cadet with Gosport Unit for just over four years.  A pupil at Bay House School, he said “My Mum and Dad run my unit so I’ve been into boating since I was very young.  I’ve been on the sailing and shooting courses and enjoy all the activities.  This Adventure Training Week has been a lot of fun.  I’ve enjoyed the indoor rock climbing the most so far and I’m looking forward to the 100ft freefall and the Power Fan although I am a bit scared!”

http://www.sea-cadets.org/

 

Leave a Reply

