High adrenaline summer adventure for Southern Area Sea Cadets Part.1


SOUTHERN AREA SEA CADETS are having the time of their lives on a fun-filled and action packed multi-activity adventure training week in Snowdonia.  Twenty four cadets and eleven adult instructors, all unpaid volunteers, from across the eight districts in the Area, are spending seven days (12-21 August) in the picturesque Welsh National Park taking part in a wide variety of exhilarating adventure training activities.

SeaCadets_50.JPG

Ranging in age from 12 to 17, the Sea Cadets who attended come from units based in Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Hampshire, Surrey, Sussex, Kent and the Isle of Wight have been rock climbing in the mountainous region, abseiling in a disused slate quarry, undertaken a mountain expedition and ridden the world famous mountain bike trails on Coed y Brenin.  In addition, the cadets have tackled underground Zip wires and Via Ferrata course, experienced the thrill of a freefall from a 100ft Powerfan, and conquered the high ropes and Tree Top Adventure, all part of North Wales’s Zip World which offers a wide-range of high adrenalin activities, and whose founder, Sean Taylor is a keen supporter of the Sea Cadets.

SeaCadets_35

Cadet First Class Isabelle Talaga, 15, has been a Sea Cadet with Henley Detachment since she was ten years old.  A pupil at Waingels College in Reading, Isabelle joined the Sea Cadets to take advantage of the range of opportunities.   She said “I personally really enjoy rock climbing and we’ve had the opportunity to go to the world class Joint Services Climbing Centre with very unique facilities to practice our basics and now, as I’m working towards my intermediate qualification, I’m having the opportunity to climb real rock faces in an outdoor environment.  It’s brilliant fun”.

SeaCadets_96

Ordinary Cadet Josie Day, 15, is a Sea Cadet with Henley Detachment.  She said “I joined Sea Cadets following a recruitment drive at our school when I was ten and I’ve done some amazing things in the past five years.  I spent a week on TS Jack Petchey when I was 13 which, at the time, was the longest I’d been away from home – it was great fun”.  A pupil at Gillots in Henley, Josie is a very keen climber who is working towards her Intermediate Climbing qualification which she is hoping she will achieve after this week’s climbing in Snowdonia.  “I’m hoping to be more confident at meeting new people this week and I’m sure that the high speed mountain biking will be a bit of a challenge too”.  She added “I really enjoyed the climbing and abseiling in the slate quarry – it was quite nerve wracking but I have an immense sense of achievement”.

SeaCadets_67.JPG

Cadet Jessica Smith, 15, has been a Sea Cadet at Guildford Detachment for two years.  A pupil at St Peter’s School, she joined with a friend and is really enjoying doing all the adventure training activities that are on offer, especially the boating.  She said “This Adventure Training Week is really fun and I love doing all this stuff so much.  I climbed Tryfan yesterday, which is a mountain, and I had such a real sense of achievement of getting to the top.  It took us four hours but it was amazing and the views from the top were spectacular”.

SeaCadets_54

Cadet First Class Peter Asekakhai, 15, is a pupil at Archbishop’s in Canterbury.  He has been a sea cadet with Faversham Detachment for the past two years.  He said “I went to France with school on a watersports holiday and I enjoyed it so much I thought I’d like to continue and so I joined Sea Cadets.   My proudest moment was taking part in last year’s Trafalgar Parade in Canterbury where I was looking smart in front of my family and friends”.  Peter is hoping to overcome his fears this week, especially when tackling the 100ft freefall on the Power Fan.  He continued “I’ve done some climbing and that was fun and the mountain scramble up Tryfan gave me a real sense of achievement, especially when we got to the top.”

SeaCadets_11.JPG

Cadet First Class Paul Kirkby, 12, is a pupil at The Petersfield School.  Paul, who lives in Bordon, has been a sea cadet at Farnham Detachment for two years.  He said “I went to the Bournemouth Airshow and saw one of the Sea Cadet stands.  I was really interested in the activities that were on offer and so I joined my local detachment.”  He added “I really enjoy sailing and as a unit we go every week to Hawley Lake; I’ve got my RYA 1 qualification now”.  During the Adventure Training week, Paul was enjoying taking part in the different activities.  He said “The mountain biking has been the most fun but I also enjoyed the mountain scramble up Tryfan – I found it hard though because I’m quite short!  I’m looking forward to the zip wires in the caverns which we’re doing later this week – I think that’s going to be really cool.”

http://www.sea-cadets.org/

Leave a Reply

