Surrey Army Cadets Annual Camp 2016 Part.5


SurreyACF_83.JPG

Cadet Amy Ringshaw, 14, is a pupil at Charters School and has been a cadet with Chobham Detachment ACF for almost two years.  She said “I saw people in uniform at school on Remembrance Day and wondered what it would be like to be part of the ACF and so I went along to find out and here I am … “  She continued “This Annual Camp is really good fun, especially as we don’t have to do PT at 6.30am every morning this time!  I’ve enjoyed the Detachment and Company Days very much where we’ve been to Weymouth and done the cliff jumping and coasteering.”  Amy is having a lot of fun as an Army Cadet, she said “I think I’m more confident in speaking to people and I’ve got a lot more discipline and my values have changed too.  I really enjoy the social element and the fact that as a detachment we get to do so many different things”.

SurreyACF_106

Cadet Matthw Ringshaw, 15, is a pupil at Silesian College in Farnborough and has been a cadet with Chobham Detachment for a year and ten months.  He said “I thought it would be fun to join the ACF and I love it, it’s been great.  I’ve met loads of new people and done some great activities.  The Company Days have been the best part of this Annual Camp as it’s so good spending time with your friends.”  He added “Since I’ve been with the ACF I’ve grown more confident.  I work better in a team and am able to take charge of more situations.”

SurreyACF_108.JPG

Corporal Marco Toledo, 17, is a cadet with Chobham Detachment ACF.  He said “I joined the ACF five years ago because I wanted to do something positive and pro-active with my time.  I needed more discipline and I was very shy and couldn’t talk to people.  That’s all changed now.  I’ve got a lot more confidence to communicate and every Annual Camp I come along to, I make a new friend.”  Marco who is going to Guildford College in September to study media has enjoyed this year’s annual camp.  He added “It’s very well organised and the fitness regime that we’ve got as senior cadets has been been really hard but very good for me.  I’m been running every day and it’s been good for my personal admin and discipline.”  For Marco, the highlights of his five years with the ACF have included his promotion to Lance Corporal; the responsibility made him want to inspire the younger cadets and he has enjoyed being on parade and representing the ACF which has filled him with immense pride.

SurreyACF_113.JPG

Cadet Ethan Dye, 12, is a cadet with Mytchett Detachment ACF and this has been his first Annual Camp having only joined 8 months ago.  A pupil at Ash Manor School, he wanted something else to do and finds that he has a real passion for shooting.  On Annual Camp he particularly enjoyed shooting the scorpion air rifle.  Ethan was one of a group of cadets who climbed the cliffs at West Weares on the Isle of Portland.  He said “It was very steep and I didn’t dare look down.  At first I wanted to stop but then I just got on with it.  I’m scared of heights so I’m really proud of my achievement.  At least I don’t feel sick any longer!”

SurreyACF_115.JPG

Cadet Owen Gibson, 13, is a pupil at Ash Manor School and has been a cadet with Mytchett Detachment ACF for a year.  He said “My Dad, who is a major with 5RIFLES in the Army, suggested I join the ACF and so here I am.  This is my first Annual Camp and it’s really good fun.  Better than I thought.  It’s hard work but in a fun way.  I didn’t like the caving and tunnelling that much but I did it – I overcame my fear and I’m quite proud of myself for that.”

SurreyACF_116.JPG

Cadet Sergeant Major Sophie Verrinder, 18, is a student at Alton College and has been a member of Mytchett Detachment ACF for almost six years.  Heading off to Portsmouth University in September to study Law with International Relations, this is her final Annual Camp as a Cadet.  She said “I’ve got so much out of being a cadet.  So many friends, so much confidence, life skills and shared experiences that I wouldn’t have got if I’d been on my own rather than with a team of people. I was lucky enough to go on the exchange to Australia last year and also took part in the Njmegen Marches. In the ACF it’s a real community and there’s a lot of peer support.  I’d definitely like to come back as an Adult Instructor.”

https://armycadets.com/county/surrey-acf/

Leave a Reply

