Surrey Army Cadets Annual Camp 2016 Part.4


SurreyACF_75.JPG

Cadet Alice Saker, 15, is a pupil at Winston Churchill School and has been a member of Woking Detachment ACF for just over one year.  She said “I joined with friends but they’ve actually all left and I’ve stayed.  I like to see the way I’ve improved. I’m normally quite girly but it’s fun to do stuff that is more outdoorsy like the shooting.”  She added “The coasteering was very scary but I have a real sense of achievement for having done it and the sea kayaking was fun but we kept capsizing”.

SurreyACF_78.JPG

Cadet Chloe Greaves, 13, is a pupil at Charters School in Sunningdale and has been a member of Chobham Detachment ACF for seven months.  She said “I joined the ACF as I thought it’d be a good and new experience and this is my first Annual Camp.  I have never swum in the sea before because I’m scared of the water but we went coasteering and I actually jumped off the rocks.  I’d definitely do it again and I’m not so scared of swimming in the sea now.”  She added “I’m making lots of new friends and I’m enjoying camp far too much to even call home – it’s really fun!”

SurreyACF_79.JPG

Adult Under Officer Mike Curtis, 23, is the Commander of Woking Detachment Surrey ACF.  A former cadet he has spent the past four years volunteering as an instructor.  Mike is in the middle of a gap year having graduated from Surrey University in November 2015 with a BA Hons in Business Management.  He said “I did so much as a cadet including travelling to Lesotho in South Africa for Cadet 150, two scuba diving trips to Egypt, and trips to Cyprus and France, I really wanted to give something back.”  He added “I get a lot of real satisfaction in seeing the cadets progress and there’s fun and a good social scene amongst the staff and other volunteers.  The support and experiences I have had from the ACF have played such a key part in my life and I wouldn’t have had the opportunity to get my degree without my ACF skills and qualifications.

SurreyACF_98

Staff Instructor Natasha Chessman, 26 is an Adult Volunteer at Woking Detachment.    A former cadet herself, Natasha joined the ACF as an adult eighteen months ago.  She said “Once my daughter was of an age where I could go back to work, I got a part-time job as a pre-school assistant and then thought I’d like to volunteer as well and so came back to the ACF.  We’ve got a very strong Company doing a lot of fundraising and other very rewarding things and there are lots of opportunities for me to develop my own skills and qualifications.  I would like to do a Skill at Arms Course and also become an Official Assessor on First Aid courses as well as a Mountain Leader’s Course.”

SurreyACF_68.JPG

Cadet Chloe Alma-Daykin, 16, has been an ACF Cadet for just over a year at Chobham Detachment.  Hoping to go to Farnborough College, Chloe joined the ACF because she wanted to test herself and push herself out of her comfort zone, as well as wanting to meet and make new friends.  She said “This is my first Annual Camp and it’s more fun than I expected.  I was really scared doing the coasteering but so proud of myself for doing it and the sea kayaking was really fun.  I learnt that if I put my head in the right zone I can do it”.  For Chloe, Fieldcraft is her favourite activity and she likes the fact that she has a whole new community of friends who aren’t from school”.

https://armycadets.com/county/surrey-acf/

 

Leave a Reply

