Surrey Army Cadets Annual Camp 2016 Part.2


SurreyACF_37.JPG

Cadet RSM Shauna Lawless, 18, has been a member of Caterham Detachment ACF for four and a half years.  She said “My arms are killing me – we’ve just done the sea kayaking – it was really good fun.  This camp has been brilliant as there has been so much adventure training and sport.  Sadly it’s my last one as I’ll be leaving soon and hopefully going off to university”.   Shauna, who has been a student at Warlingham Sixth Form, joined the ACF for a different experience.  She said “I wanted to meet new friends and do something different with my time.  I like fitness and so cadets seemed a good idea.  I want to teach sport and so the teaching qualifications you can get really help.  I did the Senior Cadet Instruction Course last year and all the experiences I’ve had at Surrey ACF, including going to Australia on the three week exchange, definitely helped me to stand out on my Personal Statement.  In fact, I’ve been given a reduced grade offer from Bath University on the back of my cadet skills and qualifications. So instead of needing 3A’s I now need ABB.”

SurreyACF_39

Cadet Rowan Hendrie, 15, has been a member of the Royal Alexandra and Albert School Detachment for three years.  He said, “Coasteering was amazing.  I was quite scared to jump into the water because you don’t know what’s beneath you, but I did it!”  Rowan, who joined Surrey ACF to help develop his teamwork skills, discipline and to conquer some of his fears, said that this summer camp was the best so far and the highlight of his cadet career, with the coasteering, sea kayaking and rock hopping being stand out activities.

SurreyACF_55.JPG

Cadet Scarlett Millar, 13 has been a member of the Royal Alexandra and Albert School Detachment for almost a year having joined for all the activities, especially the athletics and other sports.  She said “This is my first Summer Camp and it’s been brilliant. I did my Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Expedition which was a ten and a half hour hike along the coast in Swanage and Corfe Castle, spread over two days.  I love meeting new people, making new friends and learning new things.  The adventure training days like today have been the most fun.  I do canyoning outside of cadets so I loved the coasteering and sea kayaking.”

SurreyACF_56.JPG

Cadet Rose Guy, 14 is a pupil at The Beacon School and has been a cadet with Banstead Detachment for a year and a half.  She said “This is my first Annual Camp and it’s really good.  I’m meeting loads of new people.  The adventure training days are the best and I like the coasteering, climbing and sea kayaking.  I also really enjoyed the shooting.”  Rose is set on a career in the Army and joined the Army Cadets to get an insight into some of the military skills.

SurreyACF_58.JPG

Lance Corporal Zara Branco, 14, is a member of Horley Detachment ACF.  A pupil at Oxted School, she joined Army Cadets two and a half years ago because she had lots of free time and she wanted to meet new people.  She said “I love the fact you can say that you’ve done something that other people haven’t and it’s a different community to school friends”.  Zara added “This Annual Camp, I’m seeing friends from previous annual camps that I don’t get to see as well as meeting new people”.  Zara is enjoying her cadet experience and has gone on a trip to Normandy, and has achieved a BTEC in Leadership and Teamwork.  She said “It’s great to get a qualification for doing something that you love”

https://armycadets.com/county/surrey-acf/

Leave a Reply

