MP Crispin Blunt visits Surrey ACF


Reigate Detachment ACF based in Albion Road were delighted to receive a visit from the MP for Reigate, Mr Crispin Bunt on Thursday 30th June.

Mr Blunt inspected all twenty three cadets who were on parade, and took time to speak to them all, before watching demonstrations of them conducting first aid and skill at arms training.

IMG_0146

Mr Blunt, himself a former Army Officer with the 13th/18th Royal Hussars (Queen Mary’s Own) said “Meeting motivated Cadets and instructors plainly enjoying what they do was a particular pleasure. Serving in the Army Cadets helps begin a habit of voluntary public service to our society that is an unqualified good. The Surrey detachment on parade were a credit to the Queen’s uniform.”

PI 300616.JPG

PI Jack Phillips, 21, is a volunteer adult instructor with the Reigate Detachment Army Cadet Force.  A former ACF cadet himself from Dorking, Jack works at Gatwick Airport.  He said “I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of my time as a cadet and I found I missed it.  Now I have a bit of life experience and so I think it’s good to come back as an adult in a mentoring role.  I like to think that I’m a face here at the unit that the cadets can trust and talk to and that they feel welcome”.  He added “On a personal level I want to do as many courses as I can – there are so many opportunities for both cadets and adult volunteers – I’d like to do Activity First Aid and then advanced First Aid, as well as all the fieldcraft and the Duke of Edinburgh training qualifications.”

Ellie Simpson.JPG

Corporal Ellie Simpson, 15, has been a cadet with Redhill Detachment ACF for the past three years.  A pupil at The Warwick School she said “I joined the ACF as it looked really interesting and I wanted to meet new people.  I’ve met some of closest friends at ACF and have done loads of different things.  Going on the two annual camps has been the most fun.

Juliana Crone

Lance Corporal Juliana Crone, 14 is a pupil at St Bede’s School and has been a cadet with Reigate Detachment ACF for almost three years.  She said “I joined because my Mum said it would look good on my CV with all the different activities and qualifications you can get.  I’ve made really good friends and I enjoy it.  It makes me different from other people”.

https://armycadets.com/county/surrey-acf/

 

 

Leave a Reply

