254 Medical Regt – Exercise Executive Medical Stretch – Crowborough – Part.2


PIC BY STEWART TURKINGTONwww.stphotos.co.uk
07778 334771

Dr Anne Harwood: Dr – Foundation Year 2, East Kent Hospital University Foundation Trust 

“My favourite activity was the command tasks as we all had a chance to lead and by the end of the 6 tasks I was beginning to understand the dynamics of the group and how we could work around the strengths and weakness of those in the team.   I enjoyed the assault course too and was glad that it was not competitive as I was painfully aware of how unfit I was. It has given me a good incentive to try and improve my fitness levels. I am going to download the Get Fit for the Army app onto my phone and make a start when my schedule allows (I’m just about to start a run of 7 nights and this may not be the best time to start!!!).  I think from the experience as a whole I realised that actually my leadership skills were better than I had thought as I don’t see myself as a natural leader.

I am also actively thinking and researching more about being a reserve as I enjoyed the weekend and feel that it is something that I could get involved with in the future.

PIC BY STEWART TURKINGTONwww.stphotos.co.uk
07778 334771

Dr Ratna Kothari: Trainee GP

“It was a very enjoyable experience that did help me consolidate on the attributes that can help make a good leader.   A highlight for me was listening to Anna Cross who survived Ebola, the assault course, and also being able to take part in a planning exercise.”

PIC BY STEWART TURKINGTONwww.stphotos.co.uk
07778 334771

Charlene Neale: GP Practice Manager

Charlene was a member of of the Yellow Team who won the Best Team Overall prize.  She said “We had a fab team and I think that we did well because we all were willing to listen to each other and took on board other points of view.  Also we had a fantastic instructor and I think Kate was pivotal in getting us to work together so much.”  Although Charlene hated it at the time she confessed “I think the Assault Course was my favourite activity of the weekend.  Closely followed by the planning exercise.”  She added “The main thing I learnt about myself is that if I really want something I can succeed”.

Ex Med Stretch_041.jpg

Professor Amir Nasir: Consultant Surgeon, Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust

“I was exposed to new ideas, modern technology in trauma & warfare surgery and also the ethos of Medical practice in army in war situation.  The course was excellent in all aspects, especially the assault course and the physical exercises.  I enjoyed the rifle shooting despite missing the target 9 times out of 10!”

For more information go to http://www.serfca.org/Reserves/Army-Reserve/Army-Medical-Services/220-Medical-Squadron

Leave a Reply

