Westerham Sea Cadets Adult Volunteers


KP0_6579

Petty Officer Barry Finn

Petty Officer Barry Finn, 47, lives in Oxted and has been volunteering with Westerham Sea Cadets for several years.  When his daughter Abi became a cadet at the unit, he got roped in when the Commanding Officer put out a request for staff and volunteers.  “I absolutely love it!”  he said.  “I have met lots of personal challenges including learning how to handle power boats, instructing other adults as part of the area team and simply having the opportunity to get time on the water.  I am always learning new things and watching the cadets develop and grow is so very rewarding”.  He added “To be honest, I wish I’d found the SCC earlier in my life.  With my job as a bus mechanic I work nights and shift work so I can’t ever give as much time as I’d like to”.

KP0_6592

Petty Officer Rebecca Pilkington 

Petty Officer Rebecca Pilkington, 31, is a teaching assistant for children with special needs.  She has been volunteering with the Sea Cadet Corps for three years and joined Westerham with her thirteen year old son, also a cadet, four months ago when they moved to the unit.  She said “My son loves the cadets and I enjoy watching them all achieve and learn different skills.   Jan, the Commanding Officer is amazing and the unit is so friendly.  I have a disability but I can still help and have a lot to offer.  Everyone here allows me to achieve too.”

http://www.sea-cadets.org/

Leave a Reply

