EX COCKNEY FREEZE


LCpl Aime Daniel -38 Signal Regimental skiing

Still buzzing from my latest adventures Ex NORTHERN PEAK, mountaineering in Arizona and taking part in Ex LION STAR in Cyprus. LCpl Aime Daniel of 1 Signal Sqn, Milton Keynes had the opportunity to participate in Ex COCKNEY FREEZE the 38 Signal Regimental skiing trip.

26 members of the Regiment deployed to Les Carroz, a beautiful ski resort in France. I’d never seen so much snow in my life it was breathtaking. Once everyone was finally sorted with the right kit it was soon time to ski. Being a beginner skier with absolutely no experience is quite daunting when you first get on the slopes, but it had been made perfectly clear that Adventurous training “is not a holiday”.

Group Photograph

Group Photograph

After a series of graceful face plants and forgetting how to apply the brakes on many occasions I soon started to get the hang of it. Of course having and instructor as passionate about the sport as ours with his awesome use of vocabulary helped in more ways then one I thoroughly enjoyed throwing myself of the slopes by the end of the day.

WO2 Andy Medley liked to push us to our limits so by day two he had me on my first blue run. After many superwoman dives WO2 Medley realised how scared I was and with a bit of encouragement I finally made it to the end of the run. It felt amazing, a well earned pat on the back kind of achievement.

LCpl Aime Daniel tackles the rollers on the nursery slope

LCpl Aime Daniel tackles the rollers on the nursery slope

As the days passed the whole group progressed amazingly some picked it up quicker than others and some preferred giving in to gravity and spending most of their time on the deck.

Challenges continued with a night ski but at least we couldn’t tell that this was our first Red run.

As the days went by skiing became more natural and on the last full day the survivors of the beginners group found their competitive side in a race against the advanced middle group down a blue run which we won.

Its safe to say I had the time of my life skiing and its definitely something I am going to do again. Although “it’s not a holiday”, all in all it was an awesome experience and I learnt a lot more then I thought I could.

By LCpl Amie-Louise Daniel

Leave a Reply

